April 9, 2020

Happy International Unicorn Day!

Here is a schedule of readings and demos happening throughout Thursday, April 9, 2020. Picture books will be read on the hour, while books for older readers will occur on the half hour.

Click the pink buttons at the scheduled time to join in!

Emma Otheguy: The Unicorn Rescue Society #5

10:00am EST ~ Instagram
middle grade novel  

Catch a sneak peek at the latest of the New York Times bestselling The Unicorn Rescue Society! Critically acclaimed author Emma Otheguy will read from this fifth installment in the series as the kids travel to Cuba to help the legendary Madre de aguas. This novel publishes May 12, 2020. 

Sarah Beth Durst: The Girl Who Could Not Dream 

10:30am EST ~ Facebook
middle grade novel  

Acclaimed author Sarah Beth Durst will read from her middle grade novel, The Girl Who Could Not Dream, featuring Glitterhoof the Unicorn! Sophie loves the hidden shop below her parents' bookstore, where dreams are secretly bought and sold. When the dream shop is robbed and her parents go missing, Sophie must unravel the truth to save them. Together with her best friend—a wisecracking and fanatically loyal monster named Monster—she must decide whom to trust with her family’s carefully guarded secrets. Who will help them, and who will betray them? 

Emily Bliss: Unicorn Princesses 

11:00am EST ~ Instagram 
chapter book 

Welcome to an enchanted land ruled by unicorn princesses! Cressida Jenkins, a unicorn-obsessed girl who is sure that unicorns are real, is invited to visit, and readers will be thrilled to journey to the Rainbow Realm along with her! Emily Bliss will read from her bestselling series. 

Adam Gidwitz: The Unicorn Rescue Society #1

11:30am EST ~ Facebook
middle grade novel 

2019 E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor Book. Elliot and Uchenna are members of a secret group, The Unicorn Rescue Society. Their goal is to protect and defend the mythical creatures. Together with their professor, the kids must help rescue a Jersey Devil from a duo of conniving, greedy billionaires. Newbery Honor recipiet Adam Gidwitz will FINALLY share, for the first time ever, parts of the URS that ACTUALLY has unicorns in it!

Ame Dyckman: You Don't Want a Unicorn

12:00pm EST ~ Twitter 
picture book 

New York Times bestselling author will post a reading of You Don't Want a Unicorn on her Twitter! Be careful what pet you wish for in this hilarious picture book from bestselling author Ame Dyckman and beloved illustrator Liz Climo. When a little boy throws a coin in a well asking for a pet unicorn, he has no idea what kind of trouble he's in for....

David Bowles: The Unicorn Rescue Society #4

12:30pm EST ~ YouTube 
middle grade novel 

Pura Belpré Honor-winning author David Bowles joins Newbery Honor-winning Adam Gidwitz as co-author of the newest Unicorn Rescue Society adventure, as the kids travel to the U.S.-Mexican border to help the legendary chupacabras. Watch David on Twitter! 

Diana Murray: Unicorn Day 

1:00pm EST ~ Facebook 
picture book 

A clever, colorful, and over-the-top picture book about unicorns and unique-corns! Author Diana Murray will read from this Goodreads Choice Award of 2019 Finalist picture book!

Kamilla Benko: The Unicorn Quest 

1:30pm EST ~ Instagram 
middle grade novel

Join bestselling author Kamilla Benko for a quick history on the origin of the unicorns and a reading from The Unicorn Quest! This fantasy about a real-world girl searching for her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures, blends the timeless feel of A Wrinkle in Time with Frozen’s powerful themes of identity, enchantment, and sisterhood. 

Brenda Li: I Turned My Mom into a Unicorn

2:00pm EST ~ Facebook 
picture book 

Ted's mom is always angry, so he successfully turns his mom into a unicorn. Ted and the unicorn instantly bonded - a fun day filled with snacks, sparkles, confetti and gold coins! But will mommy stay a unicorn forever? Author and illustrator Brenda Li will read from her hilarious story.

Temre Beltz: The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North

2:30pm EST ~ YouTube 
middle grade novel

What's a Loyal Companion? Where would Harry Potter be without Hedwig? Can you imagine the Chronicles of Narnia without Aslan? In Wanderly, every hero gets an animal helper. Learn more about Loyal Companions from Temre and meet Ferdinand--the fire horse! 

Luke Flowers: Unicorn Day

3:00pm EST ~ Facebook 
picture book 

A clever, colorful, and over-the-top picture book about unicorns and unique-corns! New York Times bestselling illustrator Luke Flowers will demonstrate how to draw our favorite magical creatures. 

Jen Calonita: Cursed

3:30pm EST ~ Facebook 
middle grade novel

Get a sneak peak of Cursed -- the sixth and final book in the Fairy Tale Reform School series by Jen Calonita! Cursed will publish May 5, 2020. 

Jessie Sima: Not Quite Narwhal 

4:00pm EST ~ Instagram  
picture book 

Jessie Sima will introduce you to Kelp, a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals. Nominated as a Goodreads Best Picture Book, this heartwarming tale follows in the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston. 

Dana Simpson: Phoebe and Her Unicorn

4:30pm EST ~ Facebook 
graphic novel

Celebrate the 11th addition to Phoebe and Her Unicorn series with Dana Simpson! Phoebe and Her Unicorn is a daily comic strip by American cartoonist Dana Simpson. Originally called Heavenly Nostrils, the strip debuted as a webcomic on April 22, 2012, in Universal Uclick's GoComics website. It was later launched in more than 100 newspapers on March 30, 2015, under the current name.

Jessika von Innerebner: Kevin the Unicorn

5:00pm EST ~ Instagram 
picture book 

Everyone knows unicorns are perfect. They are glamorous, glittery, sparkly creatures that bring happiness to everyone around them. But Kevin's day is just not going as expected...author and illustrator Jessika von Innerebner will read from her hilarious picture book!

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez: Riders of the Realm

5:30pm EST ~ Facebook 
middle grade novel 

An avid horse lover, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez is the author of two magical horse series, The Guardian Herd and Riders of the Realm. Join her and winged horses for a from her Riders of the Realm books!  

Liz Climo: You Don't Want a Unicorn 

6:00pm EST ~ Twitter  
picture book 

Liz Climo will post brand new You Don't Want a Unicorn themed coloring pages! When a little boy throws a coin in a well asking for a pet unicorn, he has no idea what kind of trouble he's in for....

Adam Wallace: How To Catch a Unicorn

8:00pm EST ~ Facebook 
picture book 

Join Adam Wallace for a bedtime story! He will read from his #1 New York Times bestselling picture book to wrap up International Unicorn Day. Try to catch one of the world's most elusive mythical creatures―the unicorn! Filled with zany traps and lots of rainbow unicorn fun, this is the unicorn book of the year! 

Read along!

Unicorns read, too! International Unicorn Day April 9, 2020